Skip to main content

Science, Technology and Innovation Studies:

Search

People

Our Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Dayana Ariffin anthropology and indigenous peoples,science in the Philippines,taxonomy of race,colonial science  s1164818@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jim Baker Fire safety in buildings,Sociology of fire safety  University e-mail: s1363854@sms.ed.ac.uk Personal e-mail: jimbaker999@btinternet.com
Justyna Bandola-Gill Policy construction,Knowledge transfer/exchange,Policy learning,Knowledge production,Evidence & experts in policy,Research impact,Science policy,Knowledge mobilisation,Politics of knowledge,Knowledge brokers,Scientific advice,Impact agenda,Knowledge in policy  Justyna.Bandola-Gill@ed.ac.uk
Sara Bea Science and technology studies,feminist technoscience,Material Semiotics,inventive methods,ethnography,Organ and tissue donation,Bioengineered Medical Futures,Regenerative Medicine,iPS cellular biotechnology,Nonhuman Animal Studies,Genetic Engineering  S.Bea@sms.ed.ac.uk
Diana Carolina Velasco Malaver National system of innovation,Systems of Innovation,Policing  447827414244
s1059497@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Sergio Orozco-Echeverri Philosophy of science,History of science,Sociology of Knowledge,The Scientific Revolution,Early Modern Science and Philosophy,Science and Religion,Laws of nature  +44 (0) 7986820897
s1504702@sms.ed.ac.uk
Evi Giannatou Socio-legal Study,Open Content Licensing,Digital Copyright,Creative Industries  E.Giannatou@sms.ed.ac.uk
Leah Gilman Reproduction and assisted conception,Sociology of the family and kinship,Altruism and donation,Sex & Gender,Gift discourses,Medical sociology,Bodies and identity,Research ethics  l.i.gilman@sms.ed.ac.uk
Owais Golra Interactive Learning and Innovation,Dynamic Capability,Absorptive Capacity,technological capabilities,Global Value Chains,Knowledge System,Knowledge exchange,innovation systems and theory,theory of firm learning,industrial clustering and proximity  +44(0)7563557556
S1256783@sms.ed.ac.uk
Javier Guerrero-C The war on drugs,Technology and society,Outlaw Innovation,Narcosubmarines,Security  j.guerrero@sms.ed.ac.uk
Barbara Haward History of Occupational Health,Emergence of Health and Safety at work 1840 - 1930,Workers compensation,Workplace disease,Medical sociology  s1267932@ed.ac.uk
Eva Maria Hoffmann  +44 (0) 131 651 3207
s1062184@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Bill Jenkins History of science,Pre-Darwinian evolutionary theories,Science and religion in 19th-century Britain,History of the plurality of worlds debate  writetobillj@yahoo.co.uk
No Photo Thokozani Kamwendo My research interests are the formation of disciplines and claims to scientificity. I am also interested in questions about rationality and the dynamics of scientific explanation.  S.T.Kamwendo@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Michael Kattirtzi sociology of scientific knowledge,Public participation,Behavioural Economics  M.Kattirtzi[AT]sms.ed.ac.uk
Rhodri Leng Scientometrics,Sociology of Scientific Knowledge,Philosophy of Science,Citation Network Analysis,Social Network Analysis,Research Bias,Citation Bias,Public Health Policy,Science-based Policy,History of Medical Science,Public Policy  +447958146337
s1567359@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Mareike L├╝hrs Energy Systems,Energy policy,Decentralisation  s1461031@sms.ed.ac.uk
Valentina Marcheselli ethnography,Sociology of Knowledge,Astrobiology,Biomedical knowledge(s), practices and technologies  V.Marcheselli[at]sms.ed.ac.uk
Hung The Nguyen Information Infrastructure Studies,Digital Copyright Exchange,Social consequences of technological change  S1268632@sms.ed.ac.uk
Natalia Nino Science and technology,Standars and Classification,Medical Anthropology  s1100389@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Meritxell Ramirez-i-Olle Sociology of Knowledge,sociology of scientific knowledge,Paleoclimatology,trust,scepticism,Research methods,Politics of climate change science  m.ramirez-olle@sms.ed.ac.uk
George Papamichail  g.papamichail@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pattamaporn Prachomrat National system of innovation  s0975678@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mason Robbins Conflict Resolution in Divided Societies,Politics of Football,IR and Middle East,Diplomacy,Big Data Analytics,Ranking Systems,Football and IT Companies,Microsoft,Deloitte,Real Madrid,Spanish Football,Sports Management  +44 (0)745 025 5096
m.robbins-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
Abel Villa Science and technology studies,agriculture,Global Value Chains,technological capabilities,innovation networks,organic agriculture,Cooperation and Value creation,Small-scales farmers  07983139345
s1254422@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Karina E Romo Medrano M  K.E.Romo-Medrano-Mora@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hyojung Sun digital culture,Internet research,copyright issues,popular music,Creative Industries  H.Sun-8@sms.ed.ac.uk
Daniel Thorpe environmental politics,aerospace science and technologies,technopolitics,ethnography,Knowledge transfer/exchange,Sociology of Science & Technology,postcolonial science and technology studies,Situational analysis  D.Thorpe@ed.ac.uk
Vasilis Tsiatouras Soviet Mathematics,Economic Anthropology,Economic Sociology,Organizational Studies,Sociocybernetics  V.Tsiatouras-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sara Valencia Clinical Trials,Clinical regulation,Knowledge transfer/exchange,Knowledge managment,Latin America,Shared Knowledge,Vaccines  s1260565@sms.ed.ac.uk
Matjaz Vidmar Innovation,Innovation theory,Sectoral Systems of Innovation,Systems of Innovation,Science and technology,Knowledge transfer/exchange,Anthropology of Knowledge,Institutional knowledge production and practices,Knowledge managment,Entrepreneurship,Business Incubation,Space,aerospace science and technologies,Policy  +44 (0)131 668 8461
m.vidmar@sms.ed.ac.uk
Michel Wahome Technology and society,Innovation,Kenya,sustainable development  m.n.l.wahome@sms.ed.ac.uk
Xiaona Wang Intellectual History of Science,History of science and medicine,The Scientific Revolution,Science and religion  s1357591@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alison Wheatley donor insemination,gamete donation,denmark,gender,Masculinities  A.L.Wheatley@sms.ed.ac.uk
Valeri Wiegel Technology and Innovation Studies,Biography of Artefact,Social Shaping of Technology,Social Learning,Information Infrastructures  v.wiegel@ed.ac.uk
Chris Mellingwood Communication theories,sociology of scientific knowledge,public understanding of science,narrative and metaphor,Engineering studies,Science and technology studies,Biotechnologies  c.r.mellingwood[at]sms.ed.ac.uk
Chihwei Yeh Discourse & rhetoric studies,Representation of science,Social relations of curiosity-driven research,Historical and political construction of big physics  +44 (0) 131 651 4274
s1347642@sms.ed.ac.uk
Giorgos Zoukas Sociology of Scientific Knowledge,Science Communication,Internet Studies  G.Zoukas[AT]sms.ed.ac.uk